Serious & Non-Serious DUI Injuries in Tampa, Florida
Types of Bodily Injury Penalties of DUI:
CRIMINAL PENALTIES FOR DUI WITH SERIOUS BODILY INJURY IN FLORIDA
What is considered Serious Bodily Injury?
Serious Bodily Injury is defined as an injury to any person, except the driver, which consists of a physical condition that creates a substantial risk of death, serious personal disfigurement, or protracted loss or impairment of the function of any bodily member or organ.
A person convicted DUI With Serious Bodily Injury faces a maximum of 5 years in Florida State Prison. Even if the driver has no prior criminal record, unless the Judge finds there is a valid reason for a sentencing departure, the Judge is required to impose a prison sentence of more than four years.
Mandatory Adjudication of Guilt
A consequence of a plea to a DUI With Serious Bodily Injury in Florida is that the Court must adjudicate the person guilty of a felony, making the person a convicted felon. Convicted felons lose important rights, including the right to vote, the right to hold public office, and the right to possess a firearm.
A person convicted of a DUI With Serious Bodily Injury in Florida faces up to 5 years of probation.
A person convicted of a DUI With Serious Bodily Injury in Florida faces a maximum fine is $5,000. If the driver’s blood alcohol level was .15 or higher, or at the time of the offense a person under the age of 18 was present in the vehicle, the minimum fine is $1,000 for a first conviction, $2,000 for a second conviction, or $4,000 for a third conviction.
Driver’s License Revocation
The Judge must impose a minimum three-year driver’s license revocation. However, depending on the driver’s prior criminal record, the revocation may be longer.
A person convicted of DUI With Serious Bodily Injury also faces felony probation, an ignition interlock, DUI School, community service, and vehicle impound.
CRIMINAL PENALTIES FOR DUI WITH NON-SERIOUS BODILY INJURY IN FLORIDA
A person convicted of a first time DUI With Non-Serious Bodily Injury in Florida faces a maximum of one year in jail.
A person convicted of a first time DUI With Non-Serious Bodily Injury in Florida faces up to 12 months of probation.
A person convicted of a first time DUI With Non-Serious Bodily Injury in Florida faces a minimum fine of $500 and a maximum fine of $1000. However, if the driver’s blood alcohol level was .15 or higher, or at the time of the offense a person under the age of 18 was present in the vehicle, the maximum fine is $2000.
Driver’s License Revocation
The Judge must revoke the person’s driver’s license for 6 to 12 months.
Possibility of a Business Purposes Only License for the Revoked Driver’s License
After completing DUI School the driver may apply for a Business Purposes Only License.
Required only if the driver’s blood alcohol level was .15 or higher.
A 10 day vehicle impound is required.
The driver must complete Level I DUI School and any recommended treatment.
The judge must order a person convicted of a first time DUI to complete 50 hours of community service. However, some judges will allow defendants to buy out some or all of the hours.
Court Costs and Costs of Prosecution:
The amounts of these fees vary.
Are you looking for the best DUI lawyer in Tampa Florida? Contact Attorney David C. Hardy.
Tampa Attorney David C. Hardy is a former DUI prosecutor that now represents persons accused of DUI. He is Board Certified by the Florida Bar and the National Board of Trial Advocacy as an Expert in Criminal Trial Law. As a prosecutor and defense attorney, he has extensive experience handling all types of DUI cases.
If you or a loved one has been arrested for DUI in Hillsborough County Florida, Pinellas County Florida, or Pasco County Florida, Attorney David C. Hardy has the knowledge, skills, and experience to guide you through this process and obtain the best possible results.